happy birthday to you, bloggy mcblogsalot.

ok, so one year ago today i said to myself “hey, i love food blogs, i love to cook, i love pictures of food”. so i decided to start a food blog. then my friend frank said in response, “so, do you have anything to say?”. of course i immediately said “well, of course i do, don’t be ridiculous”, then i went and cried myself to sleep because i was dumb enough to think that  starting a blog was a good idea. then i woke up and started my blog.

and that is how it all started. ever since then, my husband can’t eat until all the pictures are taken, i cook and take pictures during most of my time off, and i take pictures in my jammies when it’s 30 degrees outside because the light is ‘perfect’.

but, i have also given myself the luxury of cooking something as many times as it takes until it is perfect (to me, anyway).

i have reawakened a love for photography not felt since my early twenties (helped immensely by the canon given to me by husband-yes, he’s an enabler).

and i have met and befriended a community of food bloggers and writers in my hometown that mean the world to me.

there are countless people to thank for even a small endeavor such as a food blog. but mostly i need to thank my friends and family for their willingness to taste anything and everything, and my dear friend and photographer extraordinaire, casey, who has helped me grow leaps and bounds over the past year.

rocket and mazzie, my accidental food tasters and floor lickers (i mean floor cleaners).

and this beautiful man, who married me without knowing what was to come, what was to be had for dinner, and when i would allow him to start eating.

**incidentally, and unrelated to this whole first birthday celebration, i found out today that i have been named in the austin chronicle’s top 10 food blogs. happy birthday, little bloggy:  http://www.austinchronicle.com/gyrobase/Issue/story?oid=oid%3A933445**

19 Comments

Filed under cake, desserts

19 responses to “happy birthday to you, bloggy mcblogsalot.

  1. Frank M

    Happy Birf-day to your blog! And congrats on making the top 10!! Just a sign of more good things to come (and eat…and drink) on 2010!! I’ll hoist a cold Saint Arnold to you a little later on today!

  2. Congratulations and happy blog birthday! I look forward to your 2-year birthday, too. Cheers!

  3. martha

    yay steph!!! lovely reflections– and congrats on your perserverance, talent, beauty, and now for some recognition! 😉 and to think we knew how awesome you were all along…
    smooches, m

  4. carey

    i love that story.

  5. Liz

    Congratulations, and Happy BlogDay! Still loving it…

    • thecosmiccowgirl

      thanks, folks for the kind words. this year/this blog has been a wonderful experience and i’m so glad others are enjoying it as well. keep the comments coming!

  6. Happy, happy first blog birthday! And may there be many more delicious birthdays to come.

  7. Jodie McAdams

    I had no idea you had a food blog and Happy Birthday to the birthday! I loved your orange-cranberry loaf- it was yummy! I love pictures of food also and can’t wait to cook with you. This is great! And congrats on making the top 10! Happy New Year!

  8. Happy blog birthday and Happy New Year! Looking forward to lots of delicious food here in 2010.

  9. Alice

    Happy, happy birthday Cosmic Cowgirl blog.
    Yummy recipes and great photos.
    keep up the good work!
    cheers

  10. Sonja McClenny

    Sitting here eating your wonderful tamales on this New Year’s Day and so very proud of you and thankful that our son brought you into our family. You are a very special person. We love you. Mom and Dad

  11. Hurray! I’m SO GLAD you started this blog. Without it, I wouldn’t know you and H and Frank and the dogs and your tamal-making friends. It’s been such a pleasure to get to know you in this past year, and I look forward to spending time together in 2010!

  12. A very happy birthday to you and your lovely blog! I’m looking forward to reading more. May your 2010 be bloggy and bright.

  13. Lauren

    Yay for you Steph and the little blog that could! Let them eat cake! (and by them, I mean us!)

  14. Congrats on a year!
    I totally relate to the “PJs light is perfect” thing!
    Can’t wait to see what you make for the CanJam!

  15. Billie Millar

    The cake looks so good. Is there a recipe?

  16. I know I’m mega-late on this, but just wanted to throw in a happy birthday to your blog, too. 🙂 It is tres beautiful, and this whole post made me crave gooey, cakey things.

Leave a Reply

