nectarine and mascarpone tart

nectarine tart 1

this summer i’m participating in summer fest 2009, wherein culinary ideas and inspiration about summer produce are traded by a group of food lovers and bloggers. a group, you say? but she never joins ‘groups’.  i think she hates groups, in fact! yes, i have a rep. i come from a long line of non group-joiners. what that is, i don’t know. it’s like a bad habit. i’m trying to be more aware of some of my not-so-good habits, diversify, break out of the same old rut, say yes when i would reflexively say no. always a good thing, ya know, to stretch those rigid muscles?

anyway, if you’re so inclined, you should check out some of the blogs from these summer fest party hosts: mattbites, steamy kitchen, white on rice couple, and a way to garden.

nectarine tart 2

i found distributing the crust evenly in the pan to be very zen-like. it sort of reminded me of sandcastle-building.

nectarine tart 3

i did my best to keep the filling-eating within normal limits. i was not successful. somehow i still had enough to fill the tart pan so no one would know.

nectarine tart 4

nectarine tart 5

nectarine and mascarpone tart (serves 8-10)

adapted from bon appetit

mascarpone cheese is  like an italian cream cheese, but it is extremely luxurious. it is a little pricey,but since the whole dessert is not very expensive to make,  resist the urge to use all cream cheese. there is some chilling time needed, so plan accordingly. we ate the leftovers the next day, and it still appeared and tasted very fresh.

crust:

25 gingersnaps, coarsely broken up

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted pure butter, melted

filling:

1-8 ounce container mascarpone cheese

6 ounce cream cheese, softened to room temperature

1/4 cup sour cream

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 tbsp grated lemon peel (about 2 lemons)

1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 tbsp finely chopped crystallized ginger (i skipped this-i wanted a silky smooth texture to the filling)

topping:

3-4 small nectarines, halved, pitted, cut into thin slices (a squeeze of fresh lemon juice will discourage browning)

1/4 cup peach jam, warmed 

2 tbsp finely chopped crystallized ginger

 

preheat oven to 350. process gingersnaps in a food processor into a fine grind. add melted butter and pulse until combined.  press mixture into botton and sides of a 9 inch tart pan with a removable bottom. bake crust until darkens, about 8 minutes. set aside and cool completely.

beat all ingredients for filling, except crystallized ginger , in a medium bowl or stand mixer until smooth. add ginger, if using, and mix with a spoon. spread gently into prepared crust. cover loosely and refrigerate at least 2 hours or up to 1 day.

after chilling, arrange nectarine slices in an overlapping pattern on top of filling. brush with jam. sprinkle with chopped crystallized ginger. serve, or refrigerate up to 6 hours. 

next time i think i’ll leave off the jam glaze. it doesn’t need it. it was perfect with just the clean and fresh taste of the fruit alone (see below). this would be perfect with plums, figs, or even fresh berries.

 

nectarine tart 6

19 Comments

Filed under cake, cheese, desserts, fruit

19 responses to “nectarine and mascarpone tart

  1. This looks so beautiful and delicious! I marked it in my copy of Bon Appetit too but I haven’t gotten around to making it just yet.

    I just recently started reading your blog (found it on Addie Broyles’ blogroll) and I really enjoy your posts so far.

    -Nicole

    • thecosmiccowgirl

      thanks, nicole. let me know how you like it. it is honestly one of the best (and easiest) desserts i’ve ever made.

  2. I am sold! This is gorgeous and looks delicious!

  3. Oh my god that looks wonderfully delicious!

  4. What a great way to enjoy fresh nectarines. Delicious tart and beautiful pictures.

    • thecosmiccowgirl

      thanks for all the great comments, y’all! i highly recommend this, especially since it can be made ahead of time.

  5. The filling sounds incredible! And, I think I’d skip the crystallized ginger in it too. The sliced nectarines look gorgeous.

    • thecosmiccowgirl

      coming from you, lisa, that means a lot! your desserts always look so beautiful and professional. me? i’m more of a lackadaisical dessert-maker.

  6. What a beautiful tart. I love mascarpone — urge to eat straight out of tub with spoon… — and I like the fresh peaches too. Summer in a tart pan.

  7. carey

    will you marry me?

  8. Just gorgeous — how have I only just discovered your blog? Kudos on the tart…I’ll keep checking back.

  9. Amy

    Yum! I was just on here looking for your sangria recipe and now have another thing to make!

  10. Elizabeth Heckman

    hello to the cosmic cowgirl… Just found you on google. My peaches amd nectarines are already sliced… I’ve made the French pastry found in my recently obtained “MICHEL ROUX Pastry Book” but I ‘m hesitating.. Reason?.
    I’ve just found your Nectarine Recipe. So stand by for the final result…. Your Cosmic energy has found its way to Drenthe in The Netherlands…… I’ll switch the oven on now! Stand by.
    If you don’t hear from me again it’s because I failed.. But not without trying…..Bless you!

    • thecosmiccowgirl

      elizabeth-
      so glad you found me! greetings to you in the netherlands as well. my heritage is dutch, from the town of schoonhoven. the tart is pretty easy and so delicious…please let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

